Get Your Sacramento
Seller's Permit

A seller's permit is required for any business selling tangible goods in Sacramento, California. A seller's permit is also known as a wholesale license, a resale license, or a sales permit.

Starting at $69.95

How Do You Know If You Need a Seller’s Permit in Sacramento?

The capital city of California, Sacramento is also home to many privately owned businesses. What most of these businesses have in common is the need to have a valid California seller’s permit that authorizes them to collect sales tax. These permits—also known as wholesale licenses, resale licenses, reseller permits, and sales and use tax permits—can be easily obtained through the convenient, secure online application form on FastFilings. You’re just a few clicks away from ordering your permit!

If you own a retail or wholesale business in California that leases or sells tangible goods that are generally subject to a sales tax, then you must have a valid seller’s permit. This applies to all types of business structures: proprietorships, partnerships, LLCs, and corporations.
In some cases, business owners do not realize that their company has a legal presence in the state and is required to operate with a wholesale license in Sacramento, CA. Under the law, you are considered to be engaged in business in California if any of these circumstances apply:

  • You have a place of business in the state, whether temporary or permanent.
  • You have a company sales rep, agent, or canvasser who works in California.
  • You receive rent from leasing tangible property here.

You can always contact the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration if you are uncertain whether your business needs to have a reseller permit in Sacramento, CA.

Seller's Permit vs. Resale Certificate in Sacramento, CA

A seller’s permit is sometimes confused with a resale certificate, but they are actually two different types of legal documents. California resale certificates allow your business in Sacramento, CA to purchase tax-exempt goods if the products are intended specifically for reselling. These certificates are given by the buyer in the transaction to the seller.

Get a California Wholesale License Through FastFilings

Have you been wondering how to get a California seller’s permit for your business? There’s no need to wonder with FastFilings in your corner. Our online application process gives you an easy, stress-free way to obtain one of these all-important sales tax permits, for just $69.95. To get started, be sure you have the following info ready:

  • Entity type
  • The name of the business
  • Driver license number of owner or officer
  • Business address & phone number
  • Social Security number
  • Projected monthly sales