Get Your New Jersey
Seller/Wholesale License in 5 Minutes.
Thousands of business owners have trusted Fast Filings. Put our system to work for you.
An NJ wholesale license has tremendous benefits:
✓ Also known as a certificate of authority, a seller's permit, a resale certificate, etc.
✓ Required for any business in NJ selling tangible goods.
✓ Avoid paying sales tax on
✓ Qualify for wholesale discount pricing.
Starting at $69.95
Fast Filings is exclusively a business-to-business (B2B) filing service, specializing in filings for businesses of any size. From individual business owners to large enterprises, we are here to aid you with your complete filing needs.
Get Your NJ Wholesale License Today
We work hard to make the Wholesale License process easy for you.
You can focus on your business and not on messy paperwork.
FastFilings is a private permit, license, and government document filing service. We offer filing services and document assistance services to individuals and businesses alike. Whether you need to renew a passport or obtain a permit for your business, we are here to help. We perform government filings and prepare government documents, but we are not a government agency. You can always file on your own directly with the issuing government office if you prefer.
Our goal is to help you avoid the hassle and headache of preparing and filing government documents by yourself. We error check and rush all orders.
Are you interested in opening a business in New Jersey? There are plenty of customers here with money to spend—the state actually has the largest number of millionaires per capita in the entire United States. However, if you plan to sell retail goods, you probably need to have a seller’s permit in order to do business legally in the state.
This is a type of license that authorizes you to collect sales tax from customers. It goes by several other names, including wholesale license, resale license, sales tax permit, and reseller permit. In New Jersey, it is officially known as a “Certificate of Authority.” If you need a wholesale license in New Jersey, you can trust FastFilings to help you obtain one the fast, easy, and simple way.
Who Needs a Seller’s Permit in New Jersey?
Under New Jersey law, every vendor must collect sales tax on any taxable sales, including those that happen online. This tax must be applied to the retail sale of “tangible personal property, specified digital products, and the sale of certain services.” Therefore, these vendors must have a reseller permit in New Jersey. Vendors must register with the state at least 15 days prior to commencing their business activities in New Jersey.
Although some products are exempt from this requirement (such as prescription drugs and most clothing), your business is probably required to have a sales and use tax permit. If you’re not certain, it’s best to check out the New Jersey Sales Tax Guide (available on the New Jersey Department of the Treasury website) to learn more.
Seller’s Permit Vs. Resale Certificate in NJ
A New Jersey wholesale license should not be confused with what is known as a resale certificate. What is a resale certificate in New Jersey? It is simply a document that gives you the right to purchase goods tax-free so long as you intend to sell them as retail products at a future date. The document is given by the buyer to the seller.
There are two types of New Jersey resale certificates: Form ST-3 (for in-state sellers) and Form ST-3NR (for out-of-state sellers).
How to Get a New Jersey Seller’s Permit for Your Business
All you need to do is fill out our convenient online form. Before you begin, gather the following information:
- Name of the business
- Business address and phone number
- Type of business entity
- Social Security number
- Driver license number of the owner or an officer
- Projected monthly sales