Los Angeles Seller’s Permit
A seller’s permit is required for any business selling tangible goods in Los Angeles, California. A seller’s permit is also known as a wholesale license, a resale license, or a sales permit.
Starting at $99.95
Who Needs a California Seller’s Permit?
With a population of around four million people, L.A. is a great place to do business. But if you own a place of business in Los Angeles, CA that is involved in the sale or lease of tangible goods subject to sales tax, you must have a valid seller’s permit to conduct these operations legally. A seller’s permit—also called a resale license, a wholesale license, a reseller permit, and a sales and use tax permit—gives you the authority to collect sales tax, which in turn must be passed on to the state. With FastFilings, businesses in Los Angeles can easily apply for a California seller’s permit.
Any retail or wholesale business that sells or leases tangible goods anywhere in the state must have one of these permits. The law applies to all kinds of businesses: proprietorships, partnerships, limited liability companies (LLCs), and corporations.
If any of these conditions apply, you must have a seller’s permit:
- You have some kind of temporary or permanent business space in California; or
- You have at least one sales agent or representative in California; or
- You collect rental payments from leasing tangible property in California.
Even if you’re doing business in Los Angeles only on a temporary basis, you need to have a California wholesale license.
Seller’s Permit vs. Resale Certificate in CA
A seller’s permit is not the same as a California resale certificate. While a resale license authorizes a business to collect sales tax from customers, a resale certificate allows it to avoid paying sales tax on goods that it purchases with the intent to resell. Retaining a resale certificate in Los Angeles, CA for a transaction of this nature is important for auditing purposes.
Let Fast Filings Help You Get a Wholesale License in Los Angeles, CA
With FastFilings.com on your side, you don’t need to worry about how to get a California seller’s permit for your business—you can simply let us lead you through the process. Our online application form is easy to use. Each of these sales tax permits costs $69.95 when ordered through FastFilings.com. Be sure to have the following information ready before you begin:
- Type of entity
- Business name
- Driver license number of owner or officer
- Business address and phone number
- Social Security number
- Projected monthly sales