How to Legally Sell Marijuana in California
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter

How to Legally Sell Marijuana in California

California state law allows individuals to open cannabis dispensaries. However, you’ll need to follow a few guidelines, as well as obtain a California seller’s permit before you can open. We reveal what’s needed in order to legally operate your retail marijuana business in the Golden State.

Who Can Buy Marijuana Legally in California?

Those who plan to start a business in selling marijuana legally are required to know who they can legally sell to. Any customer who obtains cannabis from you must:

  • Be 21 years of age or older
  • Not purchase more than 28.5 grams of unconcentrated cannabis
  • Not purchase more than 8 grams of concentrated cannabis

Who Can Open a Marijuana Business In California?

Anyone looking to open a retail cannabis business will need to have at least one person who can be defined as the owner of the business. The owner is the individual who will be responsible for completing and submitting the business application and can be any of the following:

  • Have an aggregate ownership interest of 20% or more
  • Be the CEO of a non-profit or other entity
  • Be on the board of a non-profit
  • Be a person who participates in the running of the business or who manages the business owner

In addition to the business license, the owner must also obtain other permits and licenses.

Required Permits and Licenses

Medical MarijuanaThere are two options for licensing. The Type 9 license is for non-storefront, cannabis-delivery businesses, and Type 10 is reserved for retail cannabis locations with a storefront.

You must hold a license both from the state as well as the city in which you will be conducting business. Whether you have a storefront or not, you will need to submit a $5000 surety bond, payable to the state of California.

In order to operate legally, you will need to obtain both an annual cannabis retailer license and a seller’s permit in CA. Depending on the use of the cannabis you sell, you will either be applying for an A-license for adult-use retail or an M-license for medicinal retail.

The city or county in which you plan to open your business will have their own regulations regarding cannabis sales, so it’s important to check and confirm any details with them.

Other Required Information

You will need to provide other information about your business, including its structure, your SSN, seller’s permit information, evidence of compliance with the CEQA (California Environmental Quality Act), and your declaration that the business won’t be located within 600 feet of a youth center or school.

How to Get Your Seller’s Permit Fast

If you’re ready to start selling cannabis but still don’t have your CA seller’s permit, you’ll be happy to know that you can get it fast when you use FastFilings. We prepare all of your needed documents and items, and we include a prepaid express mailer so you can get your permit, quickly and easily. Visit us online to get started today.

Related Posts