Get Your Orange County Seller's Permit
A sales and use tax permit is required for any business selling tangible goods in Orange County, CA. This permit is also known as a wholesale license, a resale license, a sales permit, and a resale certificate.
Starting at $69.95
Who Needs a Orange County Sales & Use Tax Permit?
Orange County, California, is home to over three million people and countless business opportunities. However, if you plan to operate a retail or wholesale business in this area, you’ll need a California seller’s permit. This type of permit—also called a wholesale license, a sales and use tax permit, a resale license, and a reseller permit—gives you the right to collect sales tax on goods or property sold. If you’re not sure how to get one of these California wholesale licenses, don’t fret—FastFilings has an online application form that simplifies the process for you.
Do You Really Need a Seller’s Permit in California?
According to state law, you need a reseller permit in Orange County, CA if you have a retail or wholesale operation that sells or leases tangible personal property that is customarily subject to sales tax, and you are “engaged in business” in the area. This is true regardless of what kind of business structure you have: sole proprietorship, partnership, LLC, or corporation.
In some cases, it may not be immediately clear if a company is truly doing business in California, especially if it is based in another part of the country. California law requires you to obtain a sales tax permit if you:
- Have business space in California, whether permanent or temporary.
- Have an agent, canvasser, independent contractor, or representative operating in California.
- Receive rent for the lease of tangible property in California.
If any of the above conditions apply, then you need to have a wholesale license in Orange County, CA.
Seller's Permit vs. Resale Certificate in CA
Despite what many believe, a seller’s permit is not the same as a resale certificate. So what’s the difference? While a seller’s permit lets you collect sales tax on behalf of the state, a California resale certificate grants you the privilege of being able to buy goods tax-free if you intend to resell them at a future date. If you’re going to be reselling goods, be sure to keep a resale certificate in Orange County, CA for your records.
Contact FastFilings to Get a California Sales Tax Permit
You don’t need to go through the trouble of figuring out how to get a California seller’s permit for your business—you can let FastFilings do the work. Our convenient online application form gives you an easy method of ordering these important permits for only $69.95. Whether you’re in Santa Ana, Anaheim, Irvine, Huntington Beach, Garden Grove, Orange, Fullerton, Yorba Linda, San Clemente, or another part of Orange County, you can use our service to get the permits you need.
To begin, get the following data ready:
- Type of entity
- Name of the business
- Business address and phone no.
- Driver license no. of the owner or officer
- Social Security no.
- Projected monthly sales