Get Your Houston Seller's Permit
A sales and use tax permit is required for any business selling tangible goods in Houston, TX. This permit is also known as a wholesale license, a resale license, a sales permit, and a resale certificate.
Starting at $69.95
Who Should Get a Texas Seller’s Permit?
By population, Houston is the largest city in Texas and the fourth largest in the entire United States. That makes it an attractive place for many entrepreneurs. But if you’re going to be selling taxable goods here, you must make sure you obtain a Texas seller’s permit, which is a type of business license that gives you the authority to collect sales tax. It also goes by a number of other names, such as resale license, wholesale license, reseller permit, & sales and use tax permit. With FastFilings’s online ordering process, it’s never been easier to obtain one of these sales tax permits.
Not all businesses need a Texas wholesale license, but you probably do if you’re located in the state and participate in the sale, rental, or lease of tangible personal property.
You are considered to be officially engaged in business here if any of these conditions are met:
- You maintain or use an office, warehouse, or another business site in Texas.
- You have an agent, a representative, or another type of employee in Texas.
- You conduct business in Texas through agents, employees, or contractors.
- You promote a flea market or another type of event in Texas where taxable goods are sold.
- You have independent salespersons who are engaged in direct sales of taxable goods in Texas.
- You have a franchisee or licensee in Texas that is required by law to collect state sales tax.
- You receive money from the rental or lease of personal property in Texas.
There are cases where it’s difficult to determine whether a business falls under any of these conditions. Feel free to contact us with your questions about getting a seller’s permit in Texas.
Seller's Permit Vs. Resale Certificate in TX
Although they are sometimes confused with each other, seller’s permits are not the same as resale certificates. So what’s the difference? A seller’s permit allows you to collect sales tax according to state law; a Texas resale certificate permits you to purchase goods tax-free so long as you resell them at a later date. These certificates are usually given by the buyer to the seller for safekeeping. If you run a local business involved in these kinds of resale transactions, you need to have a resale certificate in Houston.
How to Get a Texas Seller's Permit for Your Business
FastFilings is here to help you obtain a reseller permit in Houston that complies with state law. We serve businesses from all over the Houston area, including Pasadena, Baytown, Sugar Land, Pearland, Spring, The Woodlands, and Galveston.
Ordering your permit through FastFilings costs just $69.95. To begin, gather the following information:
- Business name
- Type of business entity
- Business address and phone no.
- Driver’s license no. (of owner or officer)
- Social Security no.
- Projected sales (monthly)